Bewildering Stories

Bewildering Stories News extra:

The Darrell Award

Michael Kingsley, representing the Memphis Science Fiction Association, has inquired whether we have any nominees for the Darrell Award.

A link to information about the award can be found at the end of the announcement, below. The award seems to be restricted to residents of certain areas of Tennessee, Arkansas and Mississippi.

Now, we usually have a fairly good idea where our contributors are located, but not always. So far we have had the pleasure of nominating Kenneth Mark Hoover, whose “Engines of Manta-Geth” appeared in issues 107 and 108. If you qualify for the award, please let us know.

Here’s a condensed version of the announcement:

Every year at MidSouthCon, the Memphis Science Fiction Association (MSFA) gives out the Darrell Award to recognize the best local sf/fantasy/horror. The Darrell Awards are named in honor of Darrell C. Richardson, author, fan, bibliophile, world traveler, and founding member of MSFA. The qualifications are that the story must:

Specifically, the counties of eligibility are:

Please keep me informed of any upcoming fiction that you may publish that might be eligible for the Darrell Award. Additional information on the Darrell Awards may be found at Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely, Michael Kingsley

Copyright © 2004 by Bewildering Stories
Return to top

Home Page